Month: December 2008

  • Connected

    Hooray. After a few days of fighting with networking equipment, I’m back on the ‘net. Thanks, Dad.

    We’re in IN for the next week and a half.

  • This Week…

    …has been uneventful. Some sleeping. Some eating. Some Linux debugging class. Some playing with iMovie. Some hours spent trying to get the right output that MediaShout would play. Pretty relaxing stuff.

    The class at work will be done on Thursday. Then it’s go to work on Friday for a few hours, then drive to the big IN, the Hoosier State, the Crossroads of America, the land of the pork tenderloin sandwich, the cradle of corn-based civilization.

    I need a haircut and a shave.

  • Aaaah. Vacation

    So far today I’ve slept in, got some money back from the thieves at Best Buy, played my concertina, played my accordion, played “Bitin’ Off Hedz,” and played some Star Trek trivia. Yep, it’s been a hard day.

    I should get started learning Objective C, but for now, I’m just going to keep poking around the internet.

  • It’s over!

    Finished up the semester’s work tonight. Now I can sleep.

    In the end I wound up writing a drama about the woman-at-the-well experience from the point of view of the disciples. As I was reading it kept hitting me that Jesus wanted these disciples to keep doing the work that they had been doing in Judea – spreading the Gospel – while they were buying food. Unfortunately, they couldn’t see past their cultural boundaries. So, they got the lesson about wellsprings inside people the embarrassing way while the woman just had to hear it once and then went out and applied it. Anyway, my wee drama focused on showing how the disciples didn’t get it.

    NOW it’s time to learn some Objective C and get to writing those iPhone apps I’ve been thinking about!

  • Greek Final

    So, I realized that the Friday option for the final was at 8am, which would mean absolutely no time to prepare for it after getting home at ~10pm tomorrow. So, I took it today. I also finally completed the homework that had been building up over the semester. So, after 6 hours spent on Greek this afternoon, plus some quick memorization and regurgitation onto a blank piece of paper, I think I did pretty well.

    Hopefully I still have the time necessary to get my two papers done!

    In other news, my wife is incredible. You can catch up with that on her blog and facebook statuses.

  • This Week

    I’ve spent most of this week reading a lot of commentaries on John 4. Right now I’m trying to go through and assemble notes from the various sources that fit within the outline for the paper I intend to write. Then I’ll be able to crank out the paper in a couple hours. Then, of course, I have to crank out another paper. And I still have to prepare for the Greek final. I should probably suck it up and take the next few days off of work. I really didn’t want to do that.

    Anyway, back to paper writing.

  • Email post fail

    So, I tried to email this post last Thursday. I finally got the final failure message from Apple’s mail server today:

    This report relates to a message you sent with the following header fields:

    Message-id: <42B3A5EB-1E3A-4CE8-AFE3-27D08D8FB1CE@mac.com>
    Date: Thu, 04 Dec 2008 23:22:40 -0700
    From: “Jonathan W. Hittle” <@mac.com>
    To: Jonathan Hittle <@weblog.xanga.com>
    Subject: Today

    Your message is being returned; it has been enqueued and undeliverable for
    4 days to the following recipients:

    Recipient address: @weblog.xanga.com
    Reason: unable to deliver this message after 4 days

    Delivery attempt history for your mail:

    Mon, 08 Dec 2008 23:24:02 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Mon, 08 Dec 2008 15:24:02 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Mon, 08 Dec 2008 07:24:00 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Sun, 07 Dec 2008 23:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Sun, 07 Dec 2008 15:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Sun, 07 Dec 2008 07:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Sat, 06 Dec 2008 23:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Sat, 06 Dec 2008 15:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Sat, 06 Dec 2008 07:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Fri, 05 Dec 2008 23:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Fri, 05 Dec 2008 15:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Fri, 05 Dec 2008 11:23:55 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Fri, 05 Dec 2008 07:23:26 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Fri, 05 Dec 2008 03:23:13 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Fri, 05 Dec 2008 01:23:12 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Thu, 04 Dec 2008 23:23:12 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Thu, 04 Dec 2008 22:23:12 -0800 (PST)
    Temporary error returned by SMTP partner.
    smtp;452 4.3.1 Out of memory

    Apparently this is an area wherein Xanga still sucks. Anyway, here’s the post:

    Today

    I got my paper written on that hermeneutics book. It was just a short report. We got a lot of snow overnight, so I decided not to take the seventy mile trek down to school tonight. Thankfully a fellow cohort member was able to print and turn in the report for me.

    I got the high level outline for my paper on John 4 set up. I’m supposed to discuss the various cultural issues that Jesus had to overcome to share the gospel with the Samaritan woman.

    I might use that same passage for my second Bible analysis paper. That way I don’t have to do two sets of completely separate research. We’ll see.

    After that, the brain-breathing was “A Wolf in the Fold”. Not the best Trek ever, but it was entertaining. I especially like the sedated Jack-the-Ripper-possessed corpse saying, “die, die, everybody die.”

  • School

    I finally got my external hermeneutics book read. I’ll write the tiny evaluation of it tomorrow (today?). After that, I need to get on top of reviewing for the Greek final and get my two larger papers cranked out.

    Watched “I, Mudd” last night. Sometimes I forget how great Star Trek is, and then I watch it, and then I remember. Maybe I have a bad sense of humour, but that episode is hilarious.